Fred Atkins Community Service Fund/Award

Applauding Exceptional Volunteerism in Cayuga County

The Fund

Frederick J. Atkins was a beloved Cayuga County volunteer and 30-year Unity House board member. Fred passed away in 2009 at the age of 95, but not before he touched the lives and hearts of many in our community. Fred was an exemplary community servant who gave selflessly of his time and considerable accounting expertise. He worked for 35 years at Columbian Rope Company in Auburn, and then volunteered for numerous organizations after his retirement.

The Frederick J. Atkins Community Service Fund was launched with gifts made to Unity House upon Fred’s passing in March 2009. With donations from the Atkins family and community members, Unity House maintains the fund to provide an annual cash award of $1,000 for the award recipient. Want to support exceptional volunteerism? Donate here.

The Award

The Fred Atkins Community Service Award recognizes an outstanding Cayuga County volunteer who exemplifies Fred’s high moral standards and philanthropic spirit. Nominations open in January.

The selected recipient will be honored at Unity House’s annual board dinner, held the last Monday of April. The recipient will be presented with a cash award of $1,000, with $500 as a reward to the winner, and $500 to be given to a Cayuga County charity of the winner’s choice.

Call For Award Nominations

The public is invited to nominate themselves or an individual who is a community servant, just like Fred.
Unity House employees are not eligible. To be considered, the nominee must:

  • Volunteer in Cayuga County
  • Act as a community service role model for others
  • Demonstrate integrity, compassion and leadership

Please complete the nomination form and return to:

Unity House
c/o Mission Advancement Office
217 Genesee St
Auburn, NY 13021

Or fax to: 315.612.3116, or Email

Nominations must be received by Thursday, February 15, 2024

Questions? Call 315.253.6227 x313

Atkins Award Winners

2023: Paul Dungey
2022: Michelle Barber
2021: Trudy Buxenbaum
2020: Timothy Donovan
2019: Don Poole
2018: Katie MacIntyre
2017: Gary Coon
2016: Susan Marteney
2015: David Bowman
2014: Bruce Sherman
2013: Jill Fandrich
2012: Suzanne Norton
2011: Alan Drennen

Pictured is 2022 Atkins Award winner Paul Dungey alongside his nominator (right), Rev. Patrick Heery.

2023 Atkins Awardee Paul Dungey of Westminster Presbyterian Church (left) with his nominator, Rev. Patrick Heery.